Suivant: , Précédent: , Monter: Environments   [Table des matières][Index]


8.8 eqnarray

L’environnement eqnarray est obsolète. Il a des maladresses parmi lesquelles l’espacement qui est incohérent avec d’autres éléments mathématiques. (Voir l’artice « Évitez eqnarray ! » de Lars Madsen (http://tug.org/TUGboat/tb33-1/tb103madsen.pdf). Les nouveaux documents devraient inclure le paquetage amsmath et utiliser les environnements d’affichage mathématique que celui-ci fournit, tels que align. On inclut une description uniquement pour être complet et pour pouvoir travailler avec d’anciens documents.

Synopsis :

\begin{eqnarray} (ou eqnarray*)
formula1 \\
formula2 \\
...
\end{eqnarray}

L’environnement eqnarray est utilisé pour afficher une séquence d’équations ou d’inégalités. Il est similaire à un environnement array à trois colonnes, avec des lignes consecutives séparées par \\ et des articles consécutifs au sein d’une ligne séparé par une esperluète &.

\\* peut aussi être utilisé pour séparer les équations, avec sa signification normale de ne pas autoriser un saut de page à cette ligne.

Un numéro d’équation est placé sur chaque ligne à moins que cette ligne ait une commande \nonumber. Alternativement, la forme étoilé (en *) de l’environnement (\begin{eqnarray*} ... \end{eqnarray*}) omet la numérotation des équations entièrement, tout en faisant par ailleurs la même chose qu’eqnarray.

La commande \lefteqn est utilisée pour couper les longues formules sur plusieurs lignes. Elle compose son argument en hors texte et le justifie à gauche dans une boîte de largeur nulle.

Next: , Previous: , Up: Environments   [Contents][Index]


8.8 eqnarray

The eqnarray environment is obsolete. It has infelicities, including spacing that is inconsistent with other mathematics elements. (See “Avoid eqnarray!” by Lars Madsen http://tug.org/TUGboat/tb33-1/tb103madsen.pdf). New documents should include the amsmath package and use the displayed mathematics environments provided there, such as the align environment. We include a description only for completeness and for working with old documents.

Synopsis:

\begin{eqnarray} 
  first formula left  &first formula middle  &first formula right \\
  ...
\end{eqnarray}

or

\begin{eqnarray*} 
  first formula left  &first formula middle  &first formula right \\
  ...
\end{eqnarray*}

Display a sequence of equations or inequalities. The left and right sides are typeset in display mode, while the middle is typeset in text mode.

It is similar to a three-column array environment, with items within a row separated by an ampersand (&), and with rows separated by double backslash  \\). The starred form of line break (\\*) can also be used to separate equations, and will disallow a page break there (see \\).

The unstarred form eqnarray places an equation number on every line (using the equation counter), unless that line contains a \nonumber command. The starred form eqnarray* omits equation numbering, while otherwise being the same.

The command \lefteqn is used for splitting long formulas across lines. It typesets its argument in display style flush left in a box of zero width.

This example shows three lines. The first two lines make an inequality, while the third line has not entry on the left side.

\begin{eqnarray*}
  \lefteqn{x_1+x_2+\cdots+x_n}     \\
    &\leq &y_1+y_2+\cdots+y_n      \\
    &=    &z+y_3+\cdots+y_n
\end{eqnarray*}

Unofficial LaTeX2e reference manual